I'm all about creative stuff

Experiments with Shadows

These are my photos of working with shadows, where I used a kitchen whisk and a colander. In the first photo, I used a fluorescent desk lamp with the whisk but I wasn’t happy with the shadows produced – I thought they weren’t contrasty and interesting enough.

Shadow experiment 1

For the second photo, I switched to a small torch and I was able to have more control over the direction of the light.

Shadow experiment 2

For the final shot, I added a colander above the whisk and shone the torch through it. This added an extra textured effect to the shadows.

Shadow experiment 3

For all of these photos, I set up my camera on a tripod as I needed to use a very slow shutter speed. I also set the self-timer to enable me to hold the torch and colander.

Leave a comment